Go to IndiaRC Home Page

Advertise at IndiaRC.com
Subscribe IRC


October 22, 2014, 10:50:15 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username or email, password and session length
News: Guide to Better Access and Usage of the Indiarc Forum Tips and Tricks @ IndiaRC/forum
 
  Home Forum Help Calendar Recent Topics GALLERY LINKS Login Register  

Quotes/Tips : Electrics are good options for beginners in aeromodeling

Pages: 1 2 »  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: DC power supply | SMPS for 12v upto 14 amps  (Read 21729 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
ram.rajeev
Air Commodore
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 388


Indiarc ... My Hangar on the Net


« on: April 08, 2008, 03:14:22 AM »

This is about how you can use an SMPS (PC ATX power supply module) to get 12 V upto 14 amps output. I was in need of a relaiable power supply for my Hyperion EoS 5i DP charger and the smps I had (12V 2Amp) became useless when I wanted to use it to charge LiPo's of capacity >2000mAh. So I got myself a PC ATX SMPS and it works great and can supply upto 12V 14Amps.

Got on to the internet, pulled out the pinout details for the ATX and the power supply was ready in minutes. Here are some details.

ATX-1 Shows the pinout of the 20 pin connector. The commonly available PC ATX SMPS has a 4 pin connector attached to the 20 pin connector. This is removable. Read the pin out based on the main 20 pin connector.

1) Short the pins 14(Green) and 13(Any ground: Black)

2) Use Pin 10 (Yellow: +12V DC) and Pin 3(Ground: Black) for 12V DC power supply.

Rajeev


ATX-1.jpg
DC power supply | SMPS for 12v upto 14 amps
* ATX-1.jpg (13.93 KB, 188x245 - viewed 4294 times.)
Logged

Hangar

Electric: EasyStar | Slow Stick | TwinStar II | Viper Mk1(ScratchBuilt) | SU37(scratchBuilt) | MIG 29 (scratchbuilt) |Slim Stick 2000 (scratchbuilt) | Fun|Jet | dMaxx Delta ScrachBuilt |
Sunil
Air Chief Marshal
Air Marshal
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2,704



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2008, 04:02:34 AM »

Hi ,
I am using a similar comp supply however I get about 1.8A rather than the stated 5 or similar amps. Trying to draw higher current drops the voltage. What happens in your case ? What the max current you are drawing ?
Sunil
Logged

Hangar
Glow Extra 260|Diablo 3D|Pitts Python-120| Velox  120 | Kyosho Kelly-50 |Yak 55 | Katana | Groovy90 | Extra 300 .90 | Pitts Bipe-50 | Extra 300s 46 | Yak 54-1.20
Electric P- P38 |  TwinJet |  PT17 | TigerMoth | Gripen | Amx EDF
RC Trucks - AfterShock Losi 4.3 | E Firestrom
My videos :
ram.rajeev
Air Commodore
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 388


Indiarc ... My Hangar on the Net


« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2008, 04:37:15 AM »

Hi Sunil.

I have drawn 3Amps from it (charging a 2S 3000mAh LiPo) and there was no drop.

Which supply are you using AT or ATX/ATX-2?. In some models especially AT, if there is no proper load on the +5V output then the performance at the other outputs viz. 12V and 3.3v is not always ok. Infact these are designed to supply proper output only when +5V terminal is properly loaded. I read somewhere that if you load your +5V terminal with atleast 1.5Amp load then the output at +12V terminal should be proper with no drop.

In case of ATX I am using (ZEN make), its sufficient to have the pin PS_ON connected to ground to ensure proper supply at the 12V terminals. There seems to be no need for any load on the +5V terminal in this case.

Rajeev


Logged

Hangar

Electric: EasyStar | Slow Stick | TwinStar II | Viper Mk1(ScratchBuilt) | SU37(scratchBuilt) | MIG 29 (scratchbuilt) |Slim Stick 2000 (scratchbuilt) | Fun|Jet | dMaxx Delta ScrachBuilt |
Sunil
Air Chief Marshal
Air Marshal
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2,704



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2008, 09:45:52 AM »

hmm how do i find out what is the power supply.... I bought is for 400/- if that indicates anything about 2 yrs back
Sunil
Logged

Hangar
Glow Extra 260|Diablo 3D|Pitts Python-120| Velox  120 | Kyosho Kelly-50 |Yak 55 | Katana | Groovy90 | Extra 300 .90 | Pitts Bipe-50 | Extra 300s 46 | Yak 54-1.20
Electric P- P38 |  TwinJet |  PT17 | TigerMoth | Gripen | Amx EDF
RC Trucks - AfterShock Losi 4.3 | E Firestrom
My videos :
PRITPAL
Squadron Leader
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71


Indiarc ... My Hangar on the Net


« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2008, 11:03:37 AM »

I am using SMPS based power supply (made for industrial use) to get out put of 12V, 20 Amps.  It is very stable to power chargers like Schulge which are very sensitive to input voltage and current. Availabe for Rs 1500-2000.  

I am using  it to charge 14.2V battery A123 @ 10 Amps without any problem. It is a one time good investment for electric flyers.

      
Logged
ram.rajeev
Air Commodore
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 388


Indiarc ... My Hangar on the Net


« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2008, 11:29:59 AM »

Sunil,

if it is 2 years back then it may be an AT one. Try loading the +5V terminal with approx 1.5amp load and see if it works.

I got mine (ATX) for Rs 500. This is also on the higher side. I have heard you can get it for Rs 300 or so.

Rajeev
« Last Edit: April 08, 2008, 11:31:16 AM by ram.rajeev » Logged

Hangar

Electric: EasyStar | Slow Stick | TwinStar II | Viper Mk1(ScratchBuilt) | SU37(scratchBuilt) | MIG 29 (scratchbuilt) |Slim Stick 2000 (scratchbuilt) | Fun|Jet | dMaxx Delta ScrachBuilt |
Raghavendra
Wing Commander
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 229


IndiaRc ...sizzling hot!


WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2008, 02:16:15 AM »

Computer AT/ATX Power supplies do not supply regulated voltage unless they are loaded on all voltage outputs. generally +5V is rated at 20A - 30A depending on the make and power rating of the power supply. if it is a AT supply, there will be +5v,-5v,+12v,-12V and if it is an ATX, there will be an additional +3.3V output, which you have to load atleast 1A.

you need to calculate the resistance required to load the voltages.

for eg, if you have to load 12V with a 1A load,

you will need 12v/1A = 12ohms Resistor, with 12v x 1A = 12 Watts of minimum power rating
similarly for 5v , 1.5 Amps loading,

you will need 5 v /1.5 A= 3.33 ohms Resistor, with 5v x 1.5A = 7.5 Watts of minimum power rating.

also, generally SMPS designed for computer will deliver about 11.6 - 11.9 volts at 12 v terminal. if you need anything differant, you need to alter it.

i've designed a 13.9 volts 25 Amps power supply, which is a SMPS, which you can use it to float charge a 12 volt lead acid battery, and also use it as power supply for any of your chargers, which can use a 12V lead acid battery as input.

i've prepared a PDF file explaining the construction of it. if anybody interested in building one for themselves, please mail me.

sunil:- is it possible to upload the PDF file in this website, which is accessible by everybody, so that anybody interested in building a power supply can simply download and use it?

regards

Raghavendra
« Last Edit: April 09, 2008, 02:18:33 AM by raghavendra » Logged
Sunil
Air Chief Marshal
Air Marshal
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2,704



WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2008, 03:50:19 AM »

Quote
i've prepared a PDF file explaining the construction of it. if anybody interested in building one for themselves, please mail me.

sunil:- is it possible to upload the PDF file in this website, which is accessible by everybody, so that anybody interested in building a power supply can simply download and use it?

regards

Raghavendra

Yes Send it to me with a writeup and I will upload it on INdiarc.com
Logged

Hangar
Glow Extra 260|Diablo 3D|Pitts Python-120| Velox  120 | Kyosho Kelly-50 |Yak 55 | Katana | Groovy90 | Extra 300 .90 | Pitts Bipe-50 | Extra 300s 46 | Yak 54-1.20
Electric P- P38 |  TwinJet |  PT17 | TigerMoth | Gripen | Amx EDF
RC Trucks - AfterShock Losi 4.3 | E Firestrom
My videos :
Raghavendra
Wing Commander
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 229


IndiaRc ...sizzling hot!


WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2008, 06:03:04 AM »

hi sunil,

what is your E-mail ID?

regards

Raghavendra
Logged
Sunil
Air Chief Marshal
Air Marshal
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2,704



WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 17, 2008, 06:58:33 AM »

I tried connecting a small bulb betn the +5v and the gnd but did not get the o/p to more than 2 Amps
Maybe will try with another smps
Sunil
Logged

Hangar
Glow Extra 260|Diablo 3D|Pitts Python-120| Velox  120 | Kyosho Kelly-50 |Yak 55 | Katana | Groovy90 | Extra 300 .90 | Pitts Bipe-50 | Extra 300s 46 | Yak 54-1.20
Electric P- P38 |  TwinJet |  PT17 | TigerMoth | Gripen | Amx EDF
RC Trucks - AfterShock Losi 4.3 | E Firestrom
My videos :
Raghavendra
Wing Commander
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 229


IndiaRc ...sizzling hot!


WWW
« Reply #10 on: June 17, 2008, 07:16:48 AM »

hi sunil,

if you are trying to use computer SMPS, you need to load all outputs.

i.e for ATX, you need to load, +5V,-5V,+3.3V,+12V,-12V. else you will not get the proper operation.

regards

Raghavendra
Logged
novaudio
IndiaRC Knight
Air Commodore
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 303



« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2009, 06:16:31 AM »

I suggest trying a laptop power supply. I have one rated at 15 V/ 5.5 A. It cost me INR 875 and works great. Simplifies connection also.
Logged

Hangar: Zlin 50l -120, AT-6 Texan 120, Christen Eagle 26cc, Super Chipmunk 120, Imagine 50, Edge 540, Ultimate Bipe EP
paddy7789
Beginner
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2009, 02:10:10 PM »

HEY RAJEEV&SUNIL,

AFTER LOOKING IN THE BIOS SETUP OF MY PC,  I FOUND THAT IN OUR COMPUTER'S CPU THE COOLING FAN ON THE MOTHERBOARD IS A BRUSHLESS MOTOR(APPROX 4000 RPM ) .IS THAT RIGHT OR NOT?
IF THTS RIGHT THEN CAN WE USE THT MOTOR FOR MAKING A RC PLANE USING DEPRON.
ALSO,WATS THE TORQUE THT WE GET FRM IT?
WAITING FR UR REPLIES...........................................................................................

MODERATOR - !@#$%^&*()DONT TYPE IN CAPITALS ... ARE YOU NEW ON THE INTERNET ?!!@#$%^&*()_+
« Last Edit: April 08, 2009, 04:52:47 AM by Moderator » Logged
paddy7789
Beginner
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



« Reply #13 on: April 07, 2009, 02:20:43 PM »

 AFTER STUDYING ABOUT THE BATTERIES THAT WE USE IN RC PLANE I HAVE COME UP WITH A QUESTION IN MY MIND THT CAN WE USE  LI-PO /LI-IO BATTERIES OF OUR CELLPHONES FOR POWERING UP A RC PLANE.BECAUSE THE RATING OF THOSE BATTERIES  :
3.7V  ,1050mAH
SO  CONNECTING TWO SUCH BATTERIES IN SERIES WE CAN GET 7.4V,1050MAH .
TELL ME IF I'M CORRECT.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2009, 04:51:08 AM by Sunil » Logged
ram.rajeev
Air Commodore
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 388


Indiarc ... My Hangar on the Net


« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2009, 04:42:04 AM »

Paddy..

You can use the Li-Ion battery if the discharge rating of the battery is appropriate to your usage. e.g. If your setup is supposed to draw say 15Amps max, then for a 7.4V 1050mAh battery the C Rating has to be 15 / (1050 / 1000) = 15C approx [ C Rating * Ah rating = Max Amps discharge value ] . I dont think mobile batteries are rated at 15C.

I think the colling fan is a brushless motor all right. But i am sure it cannot be used right out of the computer to fly a plane. Even CD Rom motors have to be rewound to provide proper capacity. Look at some writeups on CD Rom motor winding/mod to get some idea on this topic.

Rajeev
Logged

Hangar

Electric: EasyStar | Slow Stick | TwinStar II | Viper Mk1(ScratchBuilt) | SU37(scratchBuilt) | MIG 29 (scratchbuilt) |Slim Stick 2000 (scratchbuilt) | Fun|Jet | dMaxx Delta ScrachBuilt |
Pages: 1 2 »  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
Converting ATX (Dell SMPS PSU FOR BENCH POWER SUPP
General Discussions
ABHIJIT 2 1714 Last post June 02, 2004, 11:21:16 PM
by Sanjay Rai
Fuel Supply - Bangalore
Engines, Fuels and related topics
Sabu 5 1718 Last post September 25, 2007, 02:18:06 PM
by Capt Manish Chandrayan
how to give power supply for servos of a fueled Engine flight
Engines, Fuels and related topics
balu_papolu 1 987 Last post October 16, 2008, 03:01:14 PM
by Capt Manish Chandrayan
Do you know the power of RTI ?
General RC Discussion
Sunil 8 1842 Last post March 19, 2009, 11:31:27 AM
by novaudio
JR DS589 - Standard Servo - What should be Power Supply
Transmitters, Receivers, Servos and related ....
sudiptapanda 0 2545 Last post January 29, 2014, 09:38:07 AM
by sudiptapanda
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP IndiaRc all Copyright 2002-09
Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SimplePortal 2.0.1 © [SiNaN]
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!